Blog Tour: A Harvest Murder by Frances Evesham

A Harvest Murder

Delighted to be taking part in the blog tour today for A Harvest Murder by Frances Evesham, the third book in the Ham Hill Murder series. My thanks to Rachel Gilbey for inviting me to take part in the tour and to the publisher for providing me with a digital copy of the book for the purpose of review. I have reviewed the book honestly and impartially.

a harvest murder

One unexplained disappearance is strange, but two are sinister.

In Lower Hembrow, an idyllic village nestled beneath Ham Hill in Somerset, the villagers are preparing to enjoy the autumn traditions of the rural English countryside until Joe Trevillion, a curmudgeonly local farmer and the father of six children, vanishes.

When Adam Hennessy, the ex-detective proprietor of The Plough, the village’s popular Inn, investigates, he finds ominous undercurrents beneath apparently harmless rumour and gossip.

Meanwhile, a vicious campaign of vindictiveness forces Adam and his three amateur sleuth friends to dig deep into the secret lives of their neighbours to expose the source of a cruel vendetta and prevent another death.

As they uncover the disturbing truth, the friends learn they must also lay their own past lives to rest before they can hope to make their dreams for the future come true.

You don’t need to have read either of the two previous Ham Hill Murder Mysteries to enjoy A Harvest Murder but, having read and enjoyed A Racing Murder last year, I was thrilled to pop back to Lower Hembrow to see what was going on with Imogen, Adam and the crew.

Sadly, all is not well. One of the couples who seemed to be growing closer previously is fraying around the edges and one of the local farmers is having trouble in his business and his marriage. Then there is a disappearance, and Imogen and Adam’s detective instincts are on high alert again to get to the bottom of what is going on. As is typically the case in small villages, rumours and gossip abounds, feuds and rivalries raise their heads and it takes some digging to get to the truth. And there are donkeys. Sounds like a great read, doesn’t it?

Well, it is and I was not at all disappointed by my second foray into the world of this small Somerset village and all the deadly goings on. I love a cosy murder mystery and this author has managed again to incorporate all the elements that make these types of story so appealing. Great setting that you might want to move to if it were a real place (and people didn’t keep getting murdered in the vicinity!); fantastic characters in whose lives you are really invested and who have fully rounded experiences; twisty, turny plot that you are eager to unravel; great pacing that keeps you glued to the page; flowing writing that is easy to read.

After reading two book I can safely say I have become a huge fan of this series and I am eager for the next one to come out. A fast, fun read that was a welcome change from my recent diet of romcoms and something I can highly recommend. Will appeal to fans of Midsomer Murders and Miss Marple.

A Harvest Murder is out now in ebook, paperback and audiobook and you can buy a copy here. It is also included with Kindle Unlimited membership.

Make sure you check out some of the other blogs on the tour:

A Harvest Murder Full Tour Banner

About the Author

IMG_1626 frances evesham

Frances Evesham is the bestelling author of the hugely successful Exham-on-Sea murder mysteries set in her home county of Somerset, and the Ham-Hill cosy crime series set in South Somerset.

Connect with Frances:

Facebook: Frances Evesham Writer

Twitter: @FrancesEvesham

Instagram: @francesevesham

a-little-book-problem-banner

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s